CCC - Donation - FAQs

How can I make a gift to Chung Chi? Is there any responsible person I could contact?

It is possible to make instant transaction through our designated online donation platform, or you may simply mail us a neatly completed donation form together with your signed crossed cheque or credit card details enclosed. Our mailing address is ‘Development Office, 3/F, Chung Chi Administration Building, Chung Chi College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shatin, New Territories’, while cheques should be payable to ‘Chung Chi College’. For inquiries, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by email, or 3943 6498 by phone.

Friends from the U.S. may make their gifts through The Chinese University of Hong Kong Foundation, Inc. by cheque or through United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia by cheque or credit card online. (Click here for more information.)

Friends from Canada may make their gifts through The Chinese University of Hong Kong by cheque or credit card online. (Click here for more information.)

 

How can I make a donation from overseas?

Friends from the U.S. may make their gifts through The Chinese University of Hong Kong Foundation, Inc. by cheque or through United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia by cheque or credit card online. Click here for more information.

Friends from Canada may make their gifts through The Chinese University of Hong Kong by cheque or credit card online.(Click here for more information.)

 

Can I designate my gift for a specific purpose?

Yes, we welcome you to direct your gift to a program that is meaningful to you.

(Click here to learn about the work of Chung Chi College, as well as the many other areas that can benefit from your support.)

 

In what areas does CC most need support right now?

Chung Chi looks forward to your support to the following top fundraising priorities:

Development Project – Chung Chi Student Development Complex

Campus Development Fund

 

Can I make a regular gift?

Please access our Online Donation System (Click here to enter) and indicate your designated frequency of donation by selecting ‘monthly’, ‘semi-annually’ or ‘annually’ after selecting ‘recurrent gift’.

Or if you wish to use our donation form (Click here to download), you may choose to make frequent donations either on a ‘monthly’ or ‘yearly’ basis, subjected to payment method, designated by donors on their donation form. Through this channel, frequent donations by credit card autopay can be processed in a ‘monthly’ basis (with transaction normally billed in the middle of each month), starting from the following month upon donation form submission. Timely reminders will be sent to seek for an update of your credit card validity, or to remind about the next payment to be made by cheque.

 

Is there a minimum donation amount?

Donations can be made in any amount, while receipts for tax exemption are subject by law to donations of a minimum amount of one hundred Hong Kong dollars.

 

Does Chung Chi accept a donation in-kind?

 Apart from monetary donations, we appreciate all gifts-in-kind. They include:

  • Real Estate: Land, residence, commercial property, and other real estate
  • Insurance Policy: Bequest and life insurance plans naming Chung Chi College as the beneficiary
  • Publicly Traded Securities: Bonds, unit trusts, stocks and other kinds of financial contracts
  • Works of Art: Painting and other art pieces that are in accord with the collection and standards of the College.

Staff of the Development Office will be pleased to discuss any proposal that meets your specific interests and concerns. Please contact us at (852) 3943 6498 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for any queries.

 

Is my donation tax deductible in Hong Kong?

Yes. As a constituent College of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Chung Chi College is legitimately recognized for its charitable status, and therefore can issue tax exemption receipts to donors who donate to the College with not less than one hundred Hong Kong dollars.

 

Is my donation tax deductible overseas?

Donations to the College are tax deductible in both the U.S. and Canada.

For friends from the U.S.
Tax-deductible donations to the College should be made through The CUHK Foundation, Inc. by cheque or through United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia by cheque or credit card online. (Click here for more information.)

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Foundation, Inc. is established and qualified under IRC Section 501 (c)(3) of Internal Revenue Service as a tax exempt organization in the U.S. (Federal Tax I.D. Number: 98-0477422). All donations from the U.S. can be made to the Foundation and are tax deductible in the U.S. with official donation receipts issued by the Foundation. At present, the Foundation has also successfully registered in Massachusetts, New Jersey, Illinois and California to solicit donations from citizens of these states to support The CUHK.

The United Board is a tax-exempt, charitable organization in the United States, and all contributions are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by U.S. law. Tax exemption receipt will be issued by the United Board for donations made through The United Board.

For friends from Canada
Donations to the College should be made through The CUHK. (Click here for details.) The CUHK has been recognized as a prescribed foreign university in Canada under Section 3503 of the Canadian Income Tax Regulations and was added according to Schedule VIII of the Regulations by Order-in-Council P.C. 2010-551. With an official receipt issued by The CUHK, Canadian donations can be claimed against the taxable income according to subparagraph 110.1(1)(a)(vi) and paragraph 118.1(1)(f) of the Canadian Income Tax Act.

For other countries, whether a donation made by an overseas donor will be tax deductible will require checking of the laws and regulations of the country to which that donor is located. Donors are encouraged to seek their own legal/tax advice.

 

Will I receive any recognition after I make a donation?

As a token of our most sincere gratitude, our generous donors (or organizations) will be acknowledged, with their name (preferably in Chinese when it appears to organizations), major and year of graduation, on various publications of the College. Donations can also be made anonymously by indicating this option on the donation form.

Enthusiastic donors (organizations) will also be further recognized according to their donation amount. Please click here for more details.

 

Can I remain anonymous in donor listings (if any) when I make a donation?

Yes, you can. Please specify the wish to remain anonymous when you make your donation.

我可如何捐贈?可以聯絡誰?

您可以使用網上平台即時捐款(按此即時捐款);或填寫捐款表格(按此下載),連同支票或信用咭資料郵寄往「新界沙田香港中文大學崇基學院行政樓3樓 崇基學院拓展事務處」。以支票捐贈者,抬頭請寫「崇基學院」。如有任何查詢,歡迎電郵 Email住址會使用灌水程式保護機制。你需要啟動Javascript才能觀看它 或致電 3943 6498 與學院拓展事務處職員聯絡。

美國友好可經香港中文大學基金會或亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會捐款系統捐贈予崇基學院(詳情)。

加拿大友好可透過香港中文大學捐款予崇基學院(詳情)。

 

我如何從海外捐款?

美國友好可經香港中文大學基金會或亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會捐款系統捐贈予崇基學院。(詳情

加拿大友好可透過香港中文大學捐款予崇基學院。(詳情

 

我可指定捐款的用途嗎?

可以。我們歡迎您捐助對您有特別意義的計劃。請按此查閱崇基的籌款項目,以及其他需要您的支持的項目。

 

目前,崇基有那些項目最需要支持?

崇基期待您優先考慮支持以下的籌款項目:

校園拓展計劃—崇基學生發展綜合大樓

校園發展基金

 

怎樣定期捐款?

您可以在學院的網上捐款平台(按此進入)選擇「定期捐款」並按需要選擇以「每月」、「每半年」或「每年」的形式,定期捐助學院。

如果您選擇填寫捐款表格(按此下載),請於表格內選取「每月」或「每年」捐款之方格,示意所希望定期捐款之密度。以信用咭作定期捐款付款方法者,拓展事務處職員會由收妥表格之月份起每月自動進行交易(一般是每月中旬)。我們亦會於您的信用咭到期日前適時聯絡您更新資料。如欲使用支票作定期捐款,我們會列入紀錄並適時聯絡您提醒下一期捐贈。

 

有沒有最低捐贈金額?

學院歡迎任何金額之捐贈。捐贈港幣 100 元或以上的捐款人將獲發正式收據,可用作申請減免香港特別行政區政府稅項之用。

 

學院是否接受現金形式以外的捐助?

除了捐款外,我們亦歡迎非現金形式的捐助,包括:

  • 土地、住宅、商用物業以及其他房地產
  • 以崇基學院作為遺囑或人籌保險的受益人
  • 債券、單位基金、股票以及其他形式的財務契約
  • 符合書院藏品標準的藝術品捐獻

拓展事務處的同事樂意與您商談支持崇基的方法,以切合您的期望及所關注的項目。歡迎致電(852)3943 6498 或電郵 Email住址會使用灌水程式保護機制。你需要啟動Javascript才能觀看它 聯絡拓展事務處了解詳情。

 

我的捐款可否在香港申請退稅?

可以。根據香港特別行政區政府《稅務條例》第 88 條獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構及慈善信託的名單,「香港中文大學」(下稱「中大」) / 「CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG, THE」乃獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構及慈善信託;而香港中文大學崇基學院(下稱「崇基」)是「中大」成員書院之一,故「崇基」發出之正式收據可用於捐款人申請扣除應課薪俸稅、個人入息課稅或利得稅,但捐款總額不得少於 100 元。

 

我的捐款可否在海外申請退稅?

美加友好可以根據以下途徑申請退稅。請參閱以下:

美國友好捐贈
美國友好可經香港中文大學基金會或亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會捐款系統捐贈予崇基學院(詳情)。

香港中文大學基金會已於美國註冊,並獲美國國稅局《國內收入法》第 501(c)(3) 條確認為合資格的稅項減免機構 (Federal Tax I.D. Number: 98-0477422)。任何人士或機構透過基金會捐款予中大,均可於美國報稅時憑基金會發出之正式捐款收據申請扣減稅項。基金會亦已於麻省、新澤西州、伊利諾州及加利福尼亞州註冊,以鼓勵來自這些州份的人士或機構踴躍支持大學。

亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會獲美國確認為合資格的稅項減免機構,捐款者可憑亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會正式捐款收據於美國報稅時申請扣減稅項。

加拿大友好捐贈
加拿大友好可透過香港中文大學捐款予崇基學院(詳情)。香港中文大學已根據加拿大《國內收入條例》第 3503 條確認為合資格的國外大學,並根據樞密院頒令 P.C. 2010-551 於《國內收入條例》列表八列載。現在任何人士或機構捐款予中大,均可根據《國內收入法》第 110.1(1)(a)(vi) 及 118.1(1)(f) 條於加拿大報稅時憑正式捐款收據申請扣減稅項。

其他海外捐款人的捐贈能否免稅視乎捐款人所在國家的法律及法規,捐款人請自行尋求相關法律/稅務諮詢。

 

崇基學院如何向捐贈人/捐贈機構致意?

為答謝捐贈人的支持,崇基學院出版刊物上將不定期刊登捐款人的芳名以作鳴謝,刊登資料包括捐贈人姓名、學系及畢業年份(中大校友適用),或是捐贈機構名稱,並以中文名稱為準。如捐贈人不欲刊登,請於捐贈表格示意。

此外,捐贈人士/機構芳名將按捐贈金額以不同方式鳴謝。(詳情

我可以匿名捐款嗎?

可以。如您希望以匿名方式捐款,請於捐款時註明。